Making room for holiday cheer…

Like the good boy and girl we are, Alan and I got up Christmas morning and toughed out a slightly brutal, 4.5 mile run. I’ve done a few runs since St. Jude, but none have been pretty, and they have also been rather difficult because I’ve done them alone. It was nice to have my running buddy back. He keeps me entertained, on pace, and not that I ever feel scared running alone, but if ever I was faced with some kind of peril, he’s like 6 something and bearded. That’s intimidating right? Hahaha…

During this holiday season, we’ve seen various decorations. Some really cute, some a little jankety with that ONE STRAND that doesn’t match the others, and then…there was this.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06f/73703726/files/2014/12/img_5792-0.jpg
It was the first time we’d seen this house all done up. As Tony commented, “Nothing says ‘Happy Birthday, Jesus’ like an inflatable T-Rex.” But really, I think Santa Vader and Yoda, on the roof, is what exhibits the true meaning of Christmas. The poor Santa, in a Shriners fez across the street flying the plane, was looking awfully depressed after being shown up by his neighbors. It was almost as if they were laughing at him.

After our run, I headed home to get ready for festivities. I got to my sister’s and we cooked more, waiting for her daughters to get home. I decided this year, to try some new side dishes to mix with our regular faves, since my 10 year old niece decided to go vegetarian/vegan. Most of it went over well. The carrot soufflé and squash & zucchini au gratin were quite tasty. But let’s just talk about cauliflower mashed potatoes. Eew. There’s really no other word. They were disgusting. Don’t try to fool your kids with that mess.
And then, Dad made some awesome brown sugar and bacon biscuits. Yum!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06f/73703726/files/2014/12/img_5799.jpg
I’m pretty sure I ate my weight in carbs. We were so full, I didn’t even have dessert. Shocker!

After presents and food, we went to see the new Night at the Museum movie and then to Zoo lights. Both were enjoyed greatly.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06f/73703726/files/2014/12/img_5829.jpg

I think Christmas was a win this year. Everyone got along, enjoyed their presents, and proceeded to be fat and happy. Now it’s time to get back to work. Well, come Jan 5th it’ll be time. I’ll get some runs in, but I refuse to deny myself some holiday cheer.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06f/73703726/files/2014/12/img_5852-0.png

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Fun Run and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment