Solo run

I’ve not ever run more than half an hour alone. Completely alone.
Thursday morning I was jonesing for a run, since I’d not done so since the race on Saturday. Robin had to work early and I figured Alan was still resting from doing the full. (Turns out I was wrong in that last assumption, but oh well.) Anyway, I ended up running 5 miles, which was just about 5 minutes shy of an hour.

IMG_5636.JPG
For the first time ever, I listened to an audio book. I really enjoyed it; the listening to a book and the run. I had right at an hour left of Neverwhere, by Neil Gaimen. It was a great book, by the way. I don’t run alone very often at all, but if ever I do again, I’m going the way of the audio book.

I started out running a different route than usual. I ran around the neighborhood for a bit and then headed down to Overton Square. It was quite nice and peaceful without all the hubbub that normally goes on there. It was just me, the lights, the tree, and some soothing tunes.

IMG_5633.JPG

I really missed my normal, Thursday run time, but it was kind of nice to have a bit of alone time.

This entry was posted in Stories from the Road and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment