Running for a Reason…

Yesterday was an incredible day.
The St. Jude Memphis Marathon Weekend kicked off at 8am and it was one of the best runs I’ve had thus far.

Let’s back up for a minute though…Thursday night is carb loading night. A good majority of the Buffalo Runners met at our usual spot, Logan’s Steakhouse.

IMG_5606.JPG
And we proceeded to eat…and eat… Do not put a basket of fresh, buttered rolls in front of a Buffalo Runner. Chaos ensures.

IMG_5581.JPG

Cut to Saturday morning with bellies full and legs ready to do some running. We had to do our usual photo op, and then we dispersed to our respected corrals. It was chilly and windy but we were ready to do this!

IMG_5605.JPG

We ran the first 5K without walk breaks. This was a goal I had for 2015, but I managed to crush that pretty easily. I didn’t realize how easy it was going to be for me. After the 5K, we started our 3 & 1 intervals.

Mile 5ish was through the St. Jude campus. It was really hard to keep from shedding a tear. I have volunteered at that hospital and it left a huge impression on me. While it may seem like a depressing place, it’s truly one of the happiest places I’ve ever been.

As we passed the 6 mile mark, we might have partook in the free beer, in tiny cups, bystanders were handing out to racers.

About mile 7, Tony, Ashley, and a few other bootcampers were waiting to cheer us on as we passed. We did not partake in the Fireball apple cider.

As we ran through Overton Park, I realized my race was half over and I was feeling great! Then we hit Poplar Ave. You wouldn’t know by driving it, but Poplar has some hellacious hills. Strong wind and hills stink!

While we were heading down Poplar, we passed a line of cars waiting to drive through. In that line just happened to be my sister and Gracie. I somehow turned as they were yelling and I got to wave and smile at them. It was pretty awesome. I had no clue they’d be there and neither did they. It was meant to be.

A short time later, we turned off Poplar and started to head back downtown. Luckily, the full marathoners don’t split from the halfers until after mile 12. At that point, I gave my headphones to Alan and set off on my own to the finish.
The last song I heard was “All I Do Is Win”. Seemed pretty appropriate I think.

I finished my 5th half marathon at 2:35:59, my personal record. I thank Alan for that because I wouldn’t have been able to do it without him.

IMG_5600.JPG

After I finished, I waited for the rest of our halfers group to come through. Rachel, after a whole year, finally got to do a real St. Jude half marathon. I was so proud and excited for her. She made some pretty awesome replacement medals for “our” race last year, but I’m sure she was glad to get this one.
Once they were all done, I changed into a warmer shirt, grabbed a blanket, and headed back to see the full group finish.

I was so excited that I got to see, hug, and cry with my bestest friend, Maggie, when she finished her first 26.2 miles. She’s a true badass. My buddy PR’D his full. I’m convinced it’s easier for boys to run. Haha.
After about 6 hours, everyone I knew had come through the finish and I finally got to EAT! Robin, Chris (who killed his full in less than 4 hours. Jealous!), Joi, Michelle, Emily, Heather and I went to Old Venice and devoured some pizza.

IMG_5588.JPG

Since we didn’t get chicken and waffles, my favorite post race meal on Saturday, my wonderful roommate took me to get them for breakfast today.

IMG_5592.JPG

It was a wonderful day. I got to spend time with my friends and raise money for a wonderful hospital for incredibly special children.
I couldn’t be more happy to be a St. Jude Hero.

IMG_5604.JPG

This entry was posted in Stories from the Road and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment