Less than three weeks…

Adventure time!

262

In 18 days, Robin and I will pack up the car and head to Indianapolis. In 20 days, we get down to the business of getting down…26.2 miles of getting down.

We have one more long run before the big day. We’ll get to about 21 miles. If we can get that far, surely we can squeeze out another 5.2 miles, without dying. Right?
*Insert slightly scared/worried face*
I kid. I kid. I’m not worried. Robin and I got this!

I’m excited to do an out of town race. I’ve only ever done one other, in New Orleans, and it was buckets of fun! I’m looking forward to doing many, many more.
Because I wanted to know what I’m getting myself into, I checked on the elevation and map of this course. The description says “relatively flat and fast with a few small hills”.

Hahahahaha…I think they are liars. Maybe it won’t be quite so bad in real life.

The course itself looks pretty fun though!

photo (6)Indianapolis Monumental Marathon 2014 Course

My next move is to start a packing list. I’m an over packer by nature, but I have a feeling, this trip is going to be much worse than normal. I’ve heard the temperature should be in the 40s. That would be perfect.
I know to dress like it’s 20 degrees warmer than the actual temperature. I’m planning on trying to get away with a tank under a light long sleeve and my capris. What I have not decided on yet is gloves and head gear. I suppose I will bring what I have and decide on race day. So many accessory decisions!
I plan on using my Garmin and iPod, and keeping my phone in a belt. Because the battery is jankety, and for some reason it is NOT eligible for that replacement program, I’m keeping it just for pictures and emergencies. Yes. I plan on taking pictures along the way. This will be the first (and possibly only) time I do this, so…pictures or it didn’t happen. That’s my philosophy about much in life.

FlipBeltBlurredTMI have a FlipBelt that I plan on using, instead of my pouch. I think. I’ll bring both just in case, but I like that all my stuff won’t be bouncing around, causing the pouch to shift around my body. That always happens and it drives me crazy.
For fuel, I plan on Gu and Sports Beans. I might take one Gatorade pouch to drink, again, just in case. Oh, and let’s not forget gum. I cannot and will not run without gum.

Even though I have this plan in place, I’m sure it will change numerous times before we leave. I need to make a handwritten list. I have a thing about crossing things off a list. It’s exhilarating.

Now on to trying to figure out cute stuff to wear for our celebratory night out!!!

This entry was posted in Info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment