What I gave up…

for Lent that is. Music. I decided to run without it. It took me a while to figure out something that would actually be a sacrifice to give up. Most days I run with someone, but I need that noise in the background. My life has always had some kind of background music. 

Until yesterday, I’d not really had too much trouble with not having music. I’ve been running in groups or with my buddy; that is until Tuesday morning. I had my first solo run in weeks…with only the sound of my own breath. Also, my watch died, so I had nothing that would give me my intervals. What did I do? I took off. Just me and my thoughts. No intervals. Just run. I did a short 2.5 miles around the neighborhood. I did pretty well on my pace too. I’m still not fast, but I felt good. 



This entry was posted in Fun Run, Stories from the Road and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment