Running in a winter wonderland…

Memphis had quite the snow storm last week. The office was shut down again, so I wandered around the neighborhood taking pictures. 



The sun was shining and it was very pretty out. It was a lovely day for getting all bundled up and enjoying the day off. 

It also just so happened to be my friend Jenn’s birthday. I went to her apartment and we made a snowlady! A sad snowlady, but hey, we did what we could with what we had. It was fantastic! Her name is Millie. 

Photography props and many thanks to Alan for coming outside with us, probably against his will and just to make me stop harassing him. 

All this fluffy goodness went down on Thursday. Saturday was recovery run day, and after much convincing of each other, Alan and I headed out on the still somewhat snowy and icy streets. We went an hour and a half but it felt like much longer. I think the mental concentration of trying not to fall down, mixed with the physical overcompensation of trying not to fall down, really kicked out butts. Once we finally finished, surprisingly unscathed, we went to Belly Acres for delicious farm to table burgers and then back to the apartment to nap. If you live in Memphis, or come to visit, please try Belly Acres, it really is wonderful! 

Anyway, one thing on the run that really got me was the pain on the top of my right foot. It starts to bother me when I start doing long runs. It eventually works itself out, but only while I’m taking my anti inflammatory meds. After about a month the ache subsides and I can stop taking said pills. We talked about the possibility of my laces being tied too tight. I didn’t think they were, but maybe. I won’t discount any idea until I can for sure prove it wrong. So, I found this article about some different ways to tie your laces.

 I’m going to try the roomier fit style. We’ll see how that works out for me. That’s actually how I tie my Chuck Taylor’s and they are very comfy! 

Later that night Robin and I met for yummy Indian dinner. It was a much needed girl’s night with my long lost marathon buddy. Love her!



Because we live in a crazy city with no temperature regulation, the coming week will be in the mid 50s to lower 60s. I can not wait for getting in daily runs! 

This entry was posted in Just the Facts, Stories from the Road and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment