Must get back in the habit. 

Ugh! I feel like such a bum as of late. Things have happened in the running world, but summer time is sucking the life out of me. What happened to the girl who loved summer? Oh yeah, she didn’t get to beach it up this year and that has put me in an all around funk. 

I did head to Chicago a few weeks ago and that was a blast. All the runners along the river…so jealous! Memphis has a river, I could run along it, but it’s still 1000 degrees here.  

 My sweet niece, Lexie, and I on the river.
So the workout conundrum begins. I have been a member of the fitness bootcamp, run by an actual Marine, for almost 4 years. I became a little complacent during the winter because of all the cold weather we received and lasted an unusually long time. There was a time when it had to feel like 29 degrees to go inside, by this past year that temperature requirement rose to 32 degrees. You know what? I like working out outside. I don’t mind the cold. I run when it’s 11 degrees, 29 is warm! 

Anyway, inside workouts are somewhat limiting, it’s always the same things. Tidbit of information, I get bored real easy. Then the “snowstorms” started. Now, we live in the South and when it snows, things shut down. Our workout schedule follows the school schedule. If shuts down, so do we. That left for a lot of workout cancelations, a bit of weight gain, and a bit of general laziness in the mornings. 

Spring came around and I tried hard to get back in the swing of things, yet I felt I was not being pushed anymore. There was no variety, there was no challenging workouts, and there was a whole lot of unnecessary ramblings. What use to be a solid 45-50 minute hard and varied workout became maybe 25-30 minutes of something I could do in my living room. In actuality, everything we ever did could be done in my living room and front yard, but it was the accountability and someone pushing me to do it that I enjoyed. 

Needless to say, I’m on hiatus from bootcamp. There are a few of us that have decided to take that route and find alternative exercising means. I don’t particularity like gyms, so we’re not to that point yet, but we’ll see what the future holds. Right now, Alan and I are running and/or walking 3-4 weekday mornings. Saturday mornings are for longer runs. 

To work out my core, which has become crap lately, I found a 30 day core challenge. Seriously, my core is so weak my back hurts from sleeping. The challenge is basically crunches, leg raises, and planks which steadily increase in number each day. By day 30 I’m sure to be dead. For some strength training, I’m doing a set of Swiss Army knives, which is a bootcamp circuit routine, before and after the core. All in all, it’s a very short workout I do at night. I’ve often said I wouldn’t workout at home, but it’s now a necessity and I’m doing it. Also, I told Alan he had to do it too, so he is. 

In St. Jude news, we’re right at 3 months til race day. Next week is 3:15 and hopefully we’ll get about 15 miles. I’m looking forward to doing a full in my hometown. Indy this year will just be a half and I was planning on PRing, it’s a great fast course, but Robin is in a wedding that day so I’m running with Shawanda for her first half marathon ever! Gotta stick with her to get her through. No man left behind. I’ll PR it next year. We have to run it four times to get the complete medal set. Haha…

That’s it for the update I suppose. More to come later. I got a new iPad and am back for my last semester of school, for degree number two, so my head is back in the game. I took summer off from a lot of aspects of my life, apparently. 

 Also, I cut all my hairs off and sometimes wear it all silly like when I run. It’s fun and I’m usually delusionally goofy after runs anyway. 
 Currently the Those who shall not be named group of runners. 

This entry was posted in Just the Facts, Life, Stories from the Road and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment