Today is…

NATIONAL RUNNING DAY!!! Yay! ☺️ 

This morning I managed to get my booty out of the bed and get in a quick 2.5 miles. My darling kitten, Marlowe, has this new thing. “I’m going to wake mom up every half hour, starting at 3am. EVERY MORNING. I have the loudest meow in history. It is sure to wake her up. Then, right before it’s time to get up, I snuggle up real close and want to be petted til I pass out.”

   If she wasn’t so dang cute!  

That being said, with very little sleep, I crawled out of bed and hit the road. I’ve been running without music for a couple months now, and I don’t really mind it much. Today though, I kind of wanted some tunes or maybe a podcast. Tragically, I could not find ANY of my headphones and I have like 6 pairs. Guess that means it wasn’t meant to be. 

The humidity struck again. It’s been raining off and on for weeks here, so there’s always looming danger of a downpour or sweatfest because of said humidity. Guaranteed to lose a few more pounds though, so bring it on Memphis weather!

In honor on National Running Day, I posted a little picture of my quick saunter around the neighborhood. I included why I run as well. Why you may ask? Well…if alone (or even with a buddy because then I can vent) I can clear my head. I like to get my thoughts out. I also like to see my city before it wakes up, before there are people hustling and bustling about. I run because I get to see my friends and spend time with them because they really are more like family. And most importantly, I get to eat what I want (mostly)! ☺️ 

What (and why) did you do for national running day? 

  

This entry was posted in Fun Run and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment