Vacation is over…

The time has come to get back in the swing of things. I feel like I haven’t had consistent weekend runs in forever. This week was the first hour and half run I’ve done in a long time. It felt good to be back on the Greenway. It looked different though. The vegetation is starting to grow back and over the trail. It almost looked like new and unfamiliar. We’d get to certain spots and groan about how we’d only made it THIS FAR?!? It’s amazing how having not run the usual route in a while makes you forget certain things. 

I was happy to see my buddies again. It’s been a minute. We make each other better runners. I think that’s what you need in a group of buddies. There’s no competition with each other, only ourselves. Yes, we push each other to be better, but you never feel like you’re not good with what you’re accomplishing. For that I’m so thankful. I love my group. There’s only acceptance with us and if you can’t hang with that, you can’t hang with us. You’ll find our little group has people of all sizes, shapes, colors, orientations, beliefs, and personalities. It’s what makes us unique and what makes me love them all so very much. I don’t think I could be a runner anywhere else because I know without my support, I couldn’t do it on my own. 

   I went through my bibs and medals to get them all organized. I really feel like I’ve run more races than I have, apparently. But, I found, it’s really I just run a lot and I’ve become that person who only does 5Ks for races that really matter to me (or unless they have a cool medal). I hate to sound that way, but time is valuable and Saturday mornings need to be dedicated to getting mileage in the bank. Ugh. Yes. I’m that person. I’m also kinda poor so entry fees get expensive. But for now, I’ll keep adding to this collection, a few medals year.  
 

This entry was posted in Buffalo Runners, Stories from the Road and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment