Running in the rain…

This weekend’s adventure consisted of the first race I’ve done in a complete downpour. The BluffCity10K was almost a 5K because of the torrential rain. It stormed…thundered…lighteninged and all those other words the means it was really stinking wet. We all held up in the Overton Square parking garage until the storm mostly passed. The officials started a clock for twenty minutes after the last lightening strike. If it didn’t do it again for twenty mins, the race was on. If it did, well then we started all over. Since there is only a limited amount of time they could close the streets, had we waited much longer, our race would have become a 5K. 

Thankfully, there was only about a 20 minute delay. I started off continually running. I decided I would run as long as I could and only walk as long as I needed to. I forgot my watch and my running app doesn’t do intervals in the free version, so I was just going for it. 

I ended up walking about 3 hills. The rest of the time I pushed myself as hard as I could. I ended up finishing in 1:09:29. I’m pretty proud of that. It rained the entire time. I’m not fast, but I’m getting faster. Not too shabby for a wet run and no breakfast. Had we started on time, I think I would have faired better with the not eating. Generally speaking, I don’t eat before a run that short. I may decide to change that policy. 

  
Even though drenched, those badass Buffalo Runners are too good looking! 

The afternoon rolled around and I was craving my favorite thing…ice cream!

  I ran that, so I could eat this. 

 And this so I could cheer on my Grizz! Memphis vs Errrybody! Grit N Grind!

Saturday was a win all around! 

This entry was posted in Stories from the Road and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment